When to Void an Item:
If an item needs to be removed from an order after the kitchen ticket has printed [items will be shown in red if they have been sent to the kitchen] but before the customer has paid, it will require a void. This will only void out the individual item(s) and not the entire ticket.
If the menu items on the virtual check are black, it means the items have not been sent to the kitchen and you can simple delete the items from the check.
If the item has been prepared, you should use a Made Not Sold discount in order to properly take the item out of inventory.
How Void / Delete Works:
To the right of the virtual check (white box on the order screen) displays Void / Delete. Based on your system’s security levels, the employee will not be able to void any items that have already been sent to the kitchen (sent items display in red with an “*”).
Steps to Void an Item:
- Pull up the check
- Highlight the item
- Select Void / Delete
- By Default, a manager’s number is required (or if you are a manager and you open the check under your audit, you will be able to void it without an override)
- Select Yes to confirm the voided item
- Select a reason for the void
- Close the check or press Done
After the void is completed, the voided items will not appear on the virtual check or printed check. Voids are tracked by employee with the void as well as the manager who allowed the void. This is accessible in the reports area.